A Walk in the Countryside series by Rosalind Beardshaw

A Walk in the Countryside by Rosalind Beardshaw are a gorgeous series of books showcasing the great outdoors published by Nosy Crow in association the National Trust.



Each book follows two friends as they explore the beautiful countryside making many discoveries on the way.



ABC finds 26 different things whilst out and about that begin with the different letters of the alphabet.



Colours explores the wonderful range of colours you can find in nature and invites the reader to spot more things of the same colours in the pictures.


123 starts with one dog and builds up with different items as we count up to 20. At the end of the adventure night has fallen and the two friends gaze at 100 stars.


Delightfully illustrated scenes show the amazing beauty of the countryside, from woods and meadows to rivers and hilltops. Our pairs of friends discover huge skies, magnificent wildlife, changing weather and bountiful plants. Nature at its best.

The books are instantly engaging and both my two-year-old and my four-year-old love to look through them spotting all the things there are to discover.

Stylish and delicate, these books perfectly portray the carefree feeling and complete joy there is in exploring the natural world. An instant invitation for young children to get out and explore the world around them.

Buy the books from Waterstones – ABC, Colours, 123.

You can find out more about Rosaling Beardshaw on her website here.

This post contains affiliate links that won’t change the way you shop but might make us a little bit of money… that we will probably spend on more books.


14 thoughts on “A Walk in the Countryside series by Rosalind Beardshaw

  1. They look lovely; I really like the illustrator’s style. Good to know your 2 and 4 year olds enjoyed them too – I’m always on the lookout for things both my two can enjoy together.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s