The Lollies Laugh Out Loud Book Awards 2018

The shortlist for the Lollies Awards 2018 has been announced so it’s time to get reading and get voting! Each year, the laugh out loud awards selects 12 of the funniest kids books and puts them to the public vote.

Shortlist

We’ve had a great time reading through the nominated books so without further a do, here’s a round up of all the books on the shortlist this year.

Picture Books

Buy all 4 books in the Picture Book shortlist for £9.99 directly from Scholastic.

Picture Books.png

Mr Bunny’s Chocolate Factory by Elys Dolan, published by Oxford University Press

If you’ve ever wondered where chocolate eggs come from then this is the book for you. It turns out that there’s a factory full of chickens who eat so much chocolate they lay chocolate eggs! Mr Bunny is in charge but his only concern is money, and lots of it. The poor chickens are overworked and overfed and they’ve had enough.

With busy illustrations of the factory there are tons of funny details to pick out as well as some rather interesting goings on in the lives of the chickens.

Buy Mr Bunny’s Chocolate Factory from Scholastic.

The Squirrels Who Squabbled by Rachel Bright, illustrated by Jim Field and published by Orchard Books

Autumn is on its way and most squirrels are collecting food to see them through the winter. Not Spontaneous Cyril, he’s been so busy partying all summer that he hasn’t saved a thing. Heading out into the woods he spots one lonely pine cone, the last pine cone. But also watching is Bruce, a very organised squirrel who already has a full larder but just needs that one last pine cone… When it falls from the tree Cyril and Bruce end up in a fast and silly chase for the pine cone as it bounces, falls and rolls away through the wood, the race is on!

Stylish illustrations full of expression paired with a fast paced rhyming text, this book is a joy to read aloud and has a lighthearted message about friendship and sharing.

Buy The Squirrels Who Squabbled from Scholastic.

Oi Cat! by Kes Gray, illustrated by Jim Field and published by Hachette

The Frog, the Dog and the Cat are back, but this time it’s Cat’s turn to worry about where cats can sit. With Frog still in charge of the rules he has decreed that cats must sit on gnats, even though they bite Cat’s bottom. Dog tries to help find a new place for cats to sit, although perhaps being so helpful is not the best idea…

Another triumph from this brilliant team, full of silly rhymes and hilarious illustrations it is a must for fans of Oi Frog and Oi Dog.

Buy Oi Cat! from Scholastic.

I Can Only Draw Worms by Will Mabbitt, published by Penguin Books

What happens if you can only draw worms and you’re a picture book artist? Write a book about drawing worms of course. You may think that sounds like a bit of a boring book but just wait until you hear what these worms gets up to. Brilliantly simple and thoroughly entertaining this book will fire imaginations as well as provide lots of laughs.

Buy I Can Only Draw Worms from Scholastic.

You can find tons of activities and resources for these picture books on the Scholastic website.

Books for 6-8 Year Olds

Buy all 4 books in the 6-8 shortlist for £9.99 directly from Scholastic.

6-8 books.png

Barry Loser and the Birthday Billions by Jim Smith, published by Egmont

In the 8th book of the Barry Loser series it’s Barry’s birthday and his parents have bought him the big thing he was hoping for… a Shnozinator 9000! The best gaming helmet there is and it’s his, until his little brother mistakes it for a potty and breaks it with a wee. Not to worry though, Barry already has a plan, he’ll become a billionaire inventor and fix his Shnozinator 9000.

Buy Barry Loser and the Birthday Billions from Scholastic.

The Big, Fat, Totally Bonkers Diary of a Pig by Emer Stamp, published by Scholastic

The 4th installment in this hilarious series of diaries written by Pig. Pig lives on the farm with his animal friends Duck, Cow, Ki-Ki the Turkey and Rusty the dog. This book finds pig falsely accused of eating Ki-Ki, but luckily his friends soon discover that the whole thing has been set up by non other than the Evil Chickens.

With a unique and utterly hilarious voice plus plenty of fart jokes it’s no wonder these books are so well loved.

Buy The Big, Fat, Totally Bonkers Diary of a Pig from Scholastic.

There’s a Werewolf in My Tent! by Pamela Butchart, illustrated by Thomas Flintham and published by Nosy Crow

Izzy and her friends are going on a school camping trip and everyone is beyond excited, they have never been on an overnight school trip before it is definitely going to be awesome. Only once they are in the WILDERNESS they discover some strange goings on; funny howling noises, disappearing sausages and the most enormous poo anyone has ever seen in the woods. The friends are determined to get to the bottom of all the weird things and find out if it is really true, that their teacher is a werewolf.

Izzy’s friendship group is a great mix of characters with each one standing out in their own right. Fast paced and with a truly brilliant conversational style of writing broken up with lots of illustrations, this is a very funny read indeed.

Buy There’s a Werewolf in My Tent from Scholastic.

Lyttle Lies: The Pudding Problem by Joe Berger, published by Simon and Schuster

Sam Lyttle has a lot of stories to tell, like the time he saved his whole town from invading aliens with out of date gherkins or the time he rescued all of Year 2 after they fell in a sinkhole during assembly… the only trouble is, these and so many of the other things Sam says, are lies. This habit of lying gets him into more than a few tricky situations because the problem is no one believes him, even when he’s telling the truth… or is it the truth?

Despite all the tall tales Sam is instantly likeable and his imagination certainly knows no bounds! Written partly in a comic book style the book is full of funny little jokes in the illustrations as much as in the writing. Brilliantly entertaining and a truly engaging read.

Buy Lyttle Lies: The Pudding Problem from Scholastic.

Books for 9-13 Year Olds

Buy all 4 books in the 9-13 shortlist for £9.99 directly from Scholastic.

9-13 books

Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (Kind Of) by Liz Pichon, published by Scholastic

In this 13th book featuring the champion doodler Tom Gates, Tom’s grandparents are planning a big family day out that promises to be epic… or does it? Tom’s grandparents are pretty awesome with their yoga, cool cars and penchant for buying Tom presents but the whole family is going on this trip which unfortunately includes Tom’s sister Delia and it’s on the same day as the school disco which Tom just has to get back in time for!

Buy Tom Gates: Epic Adventure (Kind Of) from Scholastic.

My Mum’s Growing Down by Laura Dockrill, illustrated by David Tazzyman and published by Faber & Faber

A fabulous collection of poems all about an upside down family life. Mum is tired of being the grown up, she’s been sensible and responsible for far too long so now she’s growing down and the kids are mortified! Flashing her pants at the cinema, being rude to the teachers at parents’ evening or running wild in a museum this mum has zero boundaries.

Hilarious poems that will make you laugh and cringe at the same time. But there are some beautifully tender moments such as My Mum Knows How To Do A Rainy Day and words of wisdom in the reassuring My Mum Says ‘Oh The World’.

Buy My Mum’s Growing Down from Scholastic.

Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure by A. L. Kennedy, illustrated by Gemma Correll and published by Walker Books

Bill is just an ordinary badger when one day he is shoved into a bag and kidnapped. The kidnappers are part of a most unsavoury family, the McGloones, who are planning to put Bill in a fight with some rather vicious dogs and then turn him into pies. Thank goodness for Uncle Shawn who has almost a whole plan for saving Bill and the unfortunate group of holidaying llamas who are also being held captive by the McGloones.

Brilliantly funny and at times completely bizarre, this book has a superb mix of characters from the gentle and sensitive Bill to the revolting McGloones with plenty of dark humour.

Buy Uncle Shawn and Bill and the Almost Entirely Unplanned Adventure from Scholastic.

Football School Season 2: Where Football Saves the World by Alex Bellos and Spike Gerrell, illustrated by Ben Lyttleton and published by Walker Books

You may know people who think the world revolves around football, well guess what, this book proves that it does. In the second book from this brilliant team the big questions about the world are all easily explained through the medium of football; how the body uses water through the study of footballers wee, the complexities of languages through football in different countries and much more.

With quizzes and funny cartoons as well as tons of football facts this is sure to please any football fan but also teach them a thing or two perhaps without them noticing.

Buy Football School Season 2: Where Football Saves the World from Scholastic.

Voting is open until the 14th of December, find out more details and how to cast your vote here.

201802_Logo_roundel_plusmonkey.png

This post contains affiliate links that won’t change the way you shop but might make us a little bit of money… that we will probably spend on more books.

One thought on “The Lollies Laugh Out Loud Book Awards 2018

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: